For Those Of Us Who Know The Value Of A Dollar

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 10.42.55 PM.png

It’s sad to see how some people are in their 20s and have never worked a day in their lives and get everything handed to them. They don’t know the value of a dollar and they don’t know what it’s like to have to work for someone. They get everything they want from their parents and don’t know the feeling of buying something with your own money. I feel bad for those people.

I’ve been working since I was old enough to do so. I’ve been saving since then, as well. I work my ass off to support myself and I hate when my parents offer to help me out. “I’ll give you gas money” is one of the most common things I hear my mother say to me when I tell her I’m not making as much as I’m used to making. My response every single time is “No, I don’t need your money.”

They have fully supported me for 16 full years of my life, paying for a roof over my head, the food that I ate, the clothes that I wore, and the vacations I took, along with many other things. At the age of 16, I got my first job. I was a cashier at a supermarket, but hey, it gave me spending money. Once I started working, I paid for everything for myself except for the roof over my head and the food on the table. This is when I started to slowly break away from my parents, not needing them to fully support me anymore. If I wanted a new wardrobe, it was on me to save up money for it. If I wanted the latest iPhone, it was on me to figure out a way to purchase it. I didn’t use their money for my wants, only for my needs.

A year and a half ago I fully moved out and started fully paying my own way. Rent, food, bills, gas, and everything in between. I don’t need their money for anything now.

When I look at myself and see where I am and then look at some of my friends who ask their parents for money every time they want to buy something or go out, I think of how sad their lives must be. That car, those shoes, that purse, that vacation… Do you know how much money your parents put out for you? Not only that, but it’s sad to know that those people don’t know how rewarding it is to be able to say “I bought my car with my own money” or “I’m going to Europe because I worked hard to save up for it.”

It’s easy to buy a bunch of expensive shit and go on expensive vacations and drive expensive cars when you’re not the one who pays for any of it. But it’s rewarding to buy expensive material things, go on expensive vacations, and drive expensive cars when you worked your ass off for it.

I’m proud of myself for being self-sufficient from a young age and not needing to ask my parents to pay for the things I want. I’m proud of being able to support myself at such a young age and being able to pay my way through with whatever I want to do or buy. I go on at least 4 vacations a year, drive a beautiful car, take care of a loving pup, and go out quite often, and I’m proud that it’s my money, not someone else’s.

Leave a Reply

