This Is Who I Am

I’m tired of trying to fit in. I’m tired of pretending to be someone I’m not. Through the mix of trying to impress people, I’ve lost sight of who I am.

I have finally found myself.

I’ve been looking and looking, but I’ve been here all along. Beneath the fake smiles & fake persona, the real me has been hiding.

But I’m back.

My silly, creative, not caring what people think self is back.

I am a girl who loves too much. Who cares too much. Who wants to see everyone succeed and be the best version of themselves. I am a girl who loves to be loved, whether it be by friends or significant others. The love people have for me makes me happy. I am not ashamed of this. To love is to be loved, and to be loved is to love. They balance each other out.

I am not the heartless bitch I was pretending to be.

I don’t try to impress others, I only try to impress myself. I do things that make me happy. I do things I want to do.

You can’t bring me down. You can’t force me to do things I don’t want to do. I am strong, not weak.

I am brave, not a coward.

I am me.

I’m not the girl many of you want me to be. I’m not like the rest of them. For some reason I pretended to be, but I’m not. And please know that. I’m not them. I am me. I am different. And I am proud.

Thank you to everyone who stayed with me. And thank you to those who left. Without your abandonment, I wouldn’t have found myself.

“Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.” – Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

