An Open Letter To My Ex-Best Friend

Screen Shot 2017-02-23 at 8.19.45 PM.png

Hey!

It’s been a while, and I’m pretty sure you hate my guts. Or I’m supposed to hate yours. I’m not too sure, anymore, to be quite honest. But I’m pretty sure there’s some form of hatred mixed within somehow.

We’ve spent a lot of time together.

Shared a lot of laughs.

Memories.

Moments.

Days. Weeks. Months. Years. – that we’ll never get back.

I don’t really want them back, I enjoyed them while they lasted. You were an amazing friend to me while our friendship was at its strongest.

We shared our deepest secrets with each other.

We actually shared a lot together.

Sometimes I still look back and laugh at some of the pictures and videos we have together.

They were funny. We were funny. We were a good team.

And that is why I don’t hate you.

I mean, I can’t really hate you, even if I should. Hate is a strong word. It’s not really nice to hate anyone. You could not like someone, or just not have any particular feelings about a human being, but hating is one of the worst emotions to have towards someone.

Hate brings on aggression, hostility, pain, resentment, disgust, and so many more unneeded emotions.

Hate isn’t good for me and it isn’t good for you. It also isn’t good for anyone else, but I’m not focused on them right now.

Despite whatever happened between us. Despite whatever reason we aren’t friends anymore, I do hope you are doing well and I do hope nothing but the best for you.

I hope your family is doing well.

If you’re in a relationship – I hope he’s awesome. I hope he’s treating you well. I hope he’s not like one of the assholes you would always complain to me about.

If you’re not in a relationship – it’s okay, you don’t need no man!

A little over-enthusiastic over here, but I mean, it’s what writing does to me.

Anyway, I really do wish you the best. You were my best friend once. And while you were that person for me, I would have never wished anything bad upon you, so why start now? Why start ever? It’s ok to not speak, communicate, not like each other anymore. But no reason to wish misery upon you.

Love,

Your Ex-Bestfriend

Leave a Reply

