Airport Thoughts

As I sit at my gate, alone, listening to J. Cole, I don’t have many options on what to do while I wait for my plane to start boarding.

I have about two hours to kill.

I want coffee, but am waiting for the one hour mark to get up and buy myself some (plus I’m charging my phone and super comfy so I don’t feel like moving at the moment.)

Anyway; since my options are limited, the only thing I can do without being required to move or think, is to people watch. 

People watching is one of my favorite things to do. You learn a lot about complete strangers by just watching and observing their behavior with others. 

It’s interesting, actually. Sometimes you may be sitting down, alone, like I am right now, thinking no one is watching you, but there may be fellow people watchers somewhere in my vicinity watching me type this while observing those around me. 

I wonder what they’re thinking. 

But at the same time, I don’t really care. I’m not doing anything out of the ordinary so I’m definitely not someone to people watch at the moment. 

There’s a man sitting about 30 feet in front of me, he’s facing me. He’s people watching the right way. He has a bag of original lays and munching away while he moves his head from left to right and back again following our fellow humans and observing the behaviors of others. His bag of chips reminds me of what we all must look like while in the movie theater watching the newest release while having a bucket of popcorn in one hand, and a box of M&M’s in the other hand. Eating rapidly while watching this new, interesting movie because what else is junk food for? This airport is this man’s movie, and his seat is the theater. He’s watching a real life movie, while I’m writing about it. 

I’m used to seeing a bunch of families and children running all over the place while waiting for my plane to begin boarding. This time it’s different. I see a total of 3 couples, 2 groups of people, and everyone else is sitting alone. Two to six seats away from the nearest loner. 

No one looks happy here today. I wonder if they’re returning home or going on vacation. I wonder if they have relationship troubles or family issues. I wonder why I don’t see smiles on anyone’s faces. 

It makes me sad. 

I’m happy. I’m in a great mood. But I’m the only person smiling here today, why is that?

I need coffee. 

Leave a Reply

